top of page
Shadow on Concrete Wall

Edward Elgar  

Edwar Elgar was a British composer. As the son of a piano tuner, he learned the violin and organ. His Enigma Variations (1896) made him famous; he was followed by the oratorio The Dream of Gerontius (1900), which many consider to be his masterpiece.


He composed in the orchestral language of the romantic era of the late 19th century - characterized by bold melodies, striking color effects and the mastery of large forms - and stimulated a renaissance of English music.


His main works include the five Pomp and Circumstance Marches (1901-07), two symphonies (1908, 1911), concertos for violin (1910) and cello (1919) and the tone poem Cockaigne (1901) and Falstaff (1913)

Pomp and Circumstance
00:00 / 04:31
bottom of page