top of page
Shadow on Concrete Wall

Jean Sibelius
1865 – 1957

Jean Sibelius was a Finnish composer. As a child he played the violin and composed, later he studied composition with Karl Goldmark (1830-1915). After initially focusing on chamber music, he quickly developed into an orchestral composer.


He became involved in the movement for national independence from Russia, and his nationalism resulted in works based on Finnish folklore such as Kullervo (1892), the Karelia Suite (1893), Legends from the Kalevala (1893) and Finlandia ( 1900).


His greatest successes were his seven symphonies (1899-1924), the Violin Concerto in D minor (1903) and Tapiola (1926). His works, characterized by a lively but melancholy romanticism, gained international popularity.

Valse Triste
00:00 / 04:03
00:00 / 07:59
bottom of page